June 3, 2010 at 10:14 pm #1307
I am trying to sell a t-shirt with S,M,L,XL sizes. Everything seems to work properly until I do an “Add to Cart”. No matter what size I select, the cart only shows the product with no variation indicated at all.
If I select a different size and “Add to Cart” a second time, all it does is update the quantity of the first product in the cart. There’s no way to tell that I wanted to order a single Small and a single Large, rather than two of no size at all!
I know it should work, because I’ve seen the correct behavior in the demo store before I bought this plugin. Is there something I’m doing wrong? I’ve tried following the various tutorials repeatedly, and I can’t see anything in my settings that looks incorrect.June 3, 2010 at 10:43 pm #21258
To see if the variation is doing anything, I added an extra price to one of my sizes. The price does NOT get increased with the variation price, either.
Do I have to “enable” variations somewhere? On this page, it appears that what I’m doing should just automatically work:
What’s going on?
P.S. Is there an official way I should be requesting support, other than this forum? We’re holding up a press release for our organization until we can get this figured out.June 4, 2010 at 12:18 am #21259
I just re-read my post, and it sounds a little “snippier” than I meant it.
Sorry, I don’t mean to sound too impatient. And my “what’s going on” wasn’t at all meant to be directed at you, or anyone you might be able to assist.
I’ve been spending quite a bit of time perusing your forums and website, and (apart from the problem I’m having), I’m really excited to use this plugin on several of my other websites! I played around with the wp-ecommerce plugin and it was just a bit too cumbersome for me to feel comfortable giving it to some of my customers… wp-eStore seems to be a very good compromise between flexibility and ease of use.
Thanks!June 4, 2010 at 12:49 am #21260wpCommerceModerator
Can you please post a link to the page where it’s happening?June 4, 2010 at 12:53 am #21261
Yeah… the page is password protected, right now, so the public can’t see it.
the password is “test” (without quotes).June 4, 2010 at 1:19 am #21262IvyMember
Can you please send me the variation you are using? This is the information you have in the variation field.
IvyJune 4, 2010 at 1:28 am #21263
I added the cost to “S” in order to see if it had any effect. Originally, I just had:
“Size|Small|Medium|Large|Extra Large”June 4, 2010 at 4:36 am #21264amin007Participant
<?php wp_head(); ?>
There is a quick test that you can do to prove this theory. Quickly switch to the default WordPress theme which we know is properly coded then check this page and see if the problem is still there.
This article will explain more on this topic:
Let me know how you go.June 4, 2010 at 4:45 am #21265
That did the trick… my theme came from the BuddyPress folks, so I just assumed they know what they’re doing with WordPress themes. So much for “just assuming” stuff, huh?
Thank you!May 10, 2012 at 8:20 am #21266
I’ve got a similar to these folks, and I’m pretty darn sure that it’s because either A) the theme is improperly coded I’ve hacked and slashed at every stylesheet and .php file for a ten mile radius of this site, so lord only knows what hideous damage I’ve inflicted.
But, I’m trying to set up a s system for a client where each item in the shop doesn’t have a base price, and the price is created off of the variation that is chosen. As it stands now, if I add a price to a product, it will show up in the widget shopping cart; but variation prices never do.
Any assistance would be phenomenally appreciated. Here is a link to the site in question:May 10, 2012 at 10:56 pm #21267
Thanks for the reply. I did as directed – deactivated and deleted the plug in, then uploaded the new unzipped folder via FTP to the plugins directory. I then reloaded the plugins page in WP and activated the database. It returned the following error:
“It looks like you did not follow the WP eStore upgrade instruction to update the plugin. The database schema is out of sync and need to be updated. Please deactivate the plugin and follow the upgrade instruction from here to upgrade the plugin and correct this.”
Then in another box below that:
“Plugin could not be activated because it triggered a fatal error.”
The plugin shows as activated. Trundling over to one of the products on the site and adding it to the cart stills end up with it at zero dollars, although I understand things are probably a bit broken right now.
Any assistance is appreciated! Thanks for the help so far.May 11, 2012 at 5:59 am #21269
Why is it missing the “+” signs in the variation addition symbol settings area? I can still see that you have some customization that you did to this plugin. Please load a fresh factory build of the plugin (without modifying any code) and then tell me so I can check your site again (don’t apply your customization until we have finished investigating as we cannot troubleshoot your coding).May 16, 2012 at 1:33 am #21270
Hi – sorry for taking so long to reply.
Just to be clear, I uploaded a clean, unmodified, version of the plugin. I didn’t reapply any customizations, especially since I’m not I’ve made any to the plug in at all. I am using NextGen Gallery to display the artwork, and the gallery-wp-estore.php file to integrate the two; just in case I had modified that one I deleted the version I had and uploaded a freshly downloaded one.
The plug in still reports the error I relayed up above, and variations are still not calculating. Now, this isn’t to say that there isn’t a modification that’s been made somewhere I shouldn’t have, either to next gen gallery or to the site css, or whatever. I’m not honestly sure. And I don’t know why the ‘ + ‘ signs you mentioned aren’t showing up. Could that have been overriden elsewhere? But I can vouch for the plug in being fresh.
Just to be safe, I repeated the process again just now. It still says:
“It looks like you did not follow the WP eStore upgrade instruction to update the plugin. The database schema is out of sync and need to be updated. Please deactivate the plugin and follow the upgrade instruction from here to upgrade the plugin and correct this.”May 16, 2012 at 6:49 am #21271
That means you did not deactivate and reactivate the plugin after upgrade or you have multiple copies of this plugin in your plugins directory. I sent you an email to get site access so I can check this out.
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.