September 16, 2016 at 8:12 am #13713AnonymousInactive
I want to create a membership site of different levels of membership, but initially starting with just free membership.I can see that if WP emember is integrated with Mailchimp then everybody who registers for membership automatically gets onto my Mailchimp List.
But I have four small doubts regarding the coordination of Mailchimp and WP Emember:
1. The first doubt I have is whether I need to continue using Mailchimp at all? I don’t want to end up with two mailing lists, both having email verification systems and both sending verification emails to the member. I can see that WP Emember has its own email verification system and if I set Mailchimp to double optin that will also send a separate email verification to the customer. To avoid this, do you recommend that I can avoid Mailchimp altogether and just send all my emails to members – newsletters, announcements, blog updates etc – via WP Emember? What is the extra benefit from using Mailchimp instead of just emailing members from my dashboard?
2. If Mailchimp has to be used, then is it better to do email verification from the WP Emember side or to let Mailchimp double opt-in process do the verification?
3. If WP eMember is used with Mailchimp, will the member get automatically unsubscribed from Mailchimp if he cancels on WP emember membership?
4. Also if we are not using Mailchimp at all, what is the way members can opt to unsubscribe from my member list if they choose to leave?September 18, 2016 at 12:34 am #74147adminKeymaster
1) You are not required to use eMember’s email verification option. Also, mailchimp’s email verification is optional too (there is a checkbox in the settings to disable double opt-in). So I can’t see how this will be an issue.
2) Its really your choice.
3) No, it doesn’t auto unsubscribes.
4) Just enable the delete account option so members can delete their account if they don’t want to be a member anymore.
Or tell them to contact you and you can deactivate their profile.
Or create a new level which will be for all your cancelled users. Then use the following feature to allow them to update their level to that newly created level (for the cancelled users). Users that go to level means they want to opt out.
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.