November 30, 2011 at 4:00 pm #4899
and the comments and it sounds like if I upgrade ANY changes I have made to the “eng.php” file (in the “lang” folder) WILL be LOST if I upgrade the plugin.
Is that correct?
I just want to be sure before I try upgrading anything.November 30, 2011 at 7:35 pm #39014
That is correct, because you are replacing the contents of the plugin directory.
You should manually backup any files that you modified, and then redo any changes to the new versions.
A good procedure is:
1. Keep an original backup version of any files you plan on modifying.
2 Do whatever mods you need to the existing file.
When it comes time to upgrade…
3. Make a backup of the files you modified.
4. Install the upgrade.
5. Compare the original unmodifed files from your last version to the ones in the new version.
6. If the old and new unmodifed files are identical, just drop your backed up modified files back into the plugin.
7. If the unmodifed originals differ from the ones in the upgrade, you must manually reapply your modifications.November 30, 2011 at 7:39 pm #39015
P.S. Settings, member data, membership level information will not be lost, because they are kept in the WordPress database.December 1, 2011 at 12:21 pm #39016
Thank you for the clear, detailed info! I assume, then, that no members’ login names, addresses, and passwords and profile info, etc. would be lost either (when you say “member data” that is what you mean, I hope). It won’t change the page they log in on (location of it) etc. so they get an error or anything, I hope.
I’m mostly worried about members trying to log in after the upgrade and finding they cannot or having any trouble like that.December 1, 2011 at 1:42 pm #39017
All Tips & Tricks HQ plugins consist of two parts; code and data. What you are updating is the code. The data, containing settings and membership information, is kept in the WordPress database. Upgrading the plugin will not affect membership data.
the EXCEPTION is if you are upgrading the eStore plugin. Digital products are stored as files on your server. **IF** you stored the digital product files inside the same directory as the plugin; you must first make a backup copy of these files and then reinstall them after the upgrade. That is because upgrading plugins involves replacement of the plugin directory.
The only time you might have reason to worry about the WordPress database, is iwhen you upgrade WordPress itself.
When that occurs, your hosting provider has backup tools available, so that you can backup the WordPress database. Usually, a WordPress grade is uneventful. But for those rare occasions when something does go wrong; the database backup will save you.December 1, 2011 at 1:45 pm #39018
One more thing…
If you made any manual changes to any of the .PHP or .CSS files of the plugin; you must redo these changes after you upgrade the plugin.
THIS MEANS THE ENG.PHP FILE.
That is because that file counts as “code,” and when you update the plugin, you are updating the code part.December 2, 2011 at 9:52 pm #39019
Thank you again. I upgraded with NO problems at all.December 2, 2011 at 10:57 pm #39020February 21, 2020 at 2:16 am #39021francoc30Member
Follow up on the question: I read it somewhere in this forum that after making modification on, say a style css file, make a copy using a different name but place it in emember.custom.style folder. This folder is still in the emember parent plugin folder. Is the custom folder safe when emember is updated??
Will the same be applied to modified php files?February 21, 2020 at 4:19 am #39022adminKeymaster
The best option these days is to add your customization to the following interface of your admin area:
WP Admin -> Appearance -> Customize -> Additional CSS
Or use a plugin like the following:
That way it won’t get overwritten after any upgrade.
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.