September 25, 2013 at 9:34 am #9740
How do I keep the users of the site logged in until they click on logout or until the cookies are deleted manually? currently the site asks for login after a few min of inactivity… is there a way to give a checkbox during login which says “keep me logged in”?
In the settings page Logout the Member After XX Minutes: I have given it as 0 . but it still logouts after a few min.September 25, 2013 at 11:26 pm #57939
There is a checkbox called “Remember me” in the login form. When users click it, it will behave the way you described.September 27, 2013 at 11:53 am #57940
When I close my browser and open again, it asks for login again, I need a feature where a user can stay logged in until he/she logs out explicitly.September 27, 2013 at 2:53 pm #57941
I had also posted to this thread. I have a customer who once he logs in and starts reading must relog in each time he moves to another article. I cannot find my posting on your forum any longer so perhaps it was lost from your forum.
This member, logs in and then after 2 or 3 minutes he moves to another article and he must login again to read the next article. He has selected the remember me option when logging in and is using the latest version of Chrome and IE 10.
I have increased the number of IPS to 8 as I wondered if this was an issue although he should instead get a locked out message for exceeding the number of ips in a day.
I have the time out set for 90 minutes so that should not be a factor.
Any help is appreciated and hopefully my message will not get lost this time.
eStore v 6.9.3September 27, 2013 at 7:34 pm #57942
Yes I agree, even after checking remember me, the users are asked for the login. This issue should be fixed by the team! I am hoping they do it soon!September 27, 2013 at 8:43 pm #57943
Even after checking remember me, the user gets logged out after few min(without closing the browser) You said that remember me works for what I asked, but it doesn’t seem soSeptember 28, 2013 at 12:15 am #57944
It does work because we tested it and we have users who are using it like that. On some server’s this issue is seen due to the fact that the PHP session is not working 100%. So the data gets erased quicker. We have added another enhancement in our plugin to apply a workaround when it detects that session data is getting erased quickly. I have sent you an updated copy of the plugin for testing.
@avd23, I sent you an email with an update but you didn’t reply to it.September 28, 2013 at 6:15 pm #57945
I updated to the version you sent me v8.7.6, but still if I close the browser and open it at a later point of time I’m asked to login again.September 29, 2013 at 1:26 am #57946
I will take a look inside your site. Please reply to my email.September 29, 2013 at 1:31 am #57947
Please resend as I did not receive the first email.
Also I think members assume if they close their browser that the session is over until they go to the site and then reenter their login details. That does not seem to bother any of my members.
The real problem for them is when they are reading an article and then a few minutes later are asked to login again while still on the site.
I look forward to receiving the update. ThanksSeptember 29, 2013 at 1:47 am #57948
Done.September 29, 2013 at 5:49 pm #57949
I’ve submitted my details.September 30, 2013 at 6:14 pm #57950
Don’t notice any difference. Are there further modifications in the works or is this just something members need to live with. Thanks.September 30, 2013 at 11:52 pm #57951
@avd23, Members shouldn’t have to live with it. Remember, if there was a particular issue in the plugin then all of your members would face that issue. All of our customers would see the same issue on their sites too.
The member account that you are having issues with is obviously hitting the restrictions that you have enabled in the plugin. So it is a matter of finding out what that member is doing differently than than the others. Turn off the following two features for now. Does this member still have that logout issue after that?
Login Restriction by IP Address
Logout the Member After XX MinutesOctober 3, 2013 at 6:29 am #57952
Both turned off last week and no change. I decided to contact all the members. I sent an email to all members asking them how many have experienced the issue. Apparently 735 have but didn’t think it was worth worrying about. Most say they can read for 30 minutes or so before they have to log in. Most say it works better in firefox than in chrome and IE where the reading time is shorter. Hope that helps.
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.