August 20, 2012 at 8:51 pm #7202amongstitMember
Once people have canceled their subscription it is setting their accounts to unsubscribed not expired, which is still allowing them to see content. How can I fix this? Manually changing the accounts to expired is very time consuming.
Thanks for your help in advanceAugust 21, 2012 at 12:31 am #48566IvyMember
Basically, what is happening is that you have specified a membership duration value in the membership level. The user has cancelled the account mid-month so they still have remaining time on their membership. This is why the status is set to unsubscribed to allow them access to the content they have paid for. When their membership duration is finished it will set the account to inactive.
If you are using a subscription payment for your membership level and want to immediately cancel the account of the member when they cancel then use “No expiry or until cancelled” option in the membership level. This option will expiry the account as soon as it is cancelled.April 25, 2013 at 6:51 am #48567joeplcMember
Question to free membership. I have free membership on my site. And the free member can access to a special page in which they can download files and also go to product/items page where to start paid subscription. So far it is working fine.
Paid subscribers lose their access to paid members’ pages once they cancel subscription. Their status is downgraded to free membership status. It is working also.
My question is how to do if free members want to cancel their free membership. I am not setting time duration or expiration date when they register to free membership. Does eMember have a function to allowing free member to cancel their membership so that they can not even login to free membership? Or do I have to collect email from free members if they want me to exclude their membership information from the eMember database?April 26, 2013 at 12:44 am #48568adminKeymaster
Usually a free membership doesn’t need any cancelling because the membership is free. You are not charging anything for it so there is nothing there to cancel really.
However, you can allow your users to delete their membership account on your site which can help with what you are trying to do.
Go to eMember settings and enable the “Allow Account Deletion” feature. Now, your members can delete their membership account from the their “edit profile” page.April 26, 2013 at 1:26 am #48569joeplcMember
Thank you, understood.
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.